VISION

The American sociologist Alvin Toffler describes in his book “Future Shock” the inhabitants of megacities already in 1970 as the “creators of a lifestyle, which leads unconsciously a life that will be lived by millions of others tomorrow. Although they represent only a small percentage of the overall population, they are building the international community of the citizen of the future. They are the pioneers of humanity.”.
The cities and megacities represent only 2% of the surface of the earth although their inhabitants combine 70% of the overall world population, which will have risen to 9 billion people by 2050.
According to a report by the United Nations in 2015, the world already contains 71 megacities with more than 5 million inhabitants. By 2030 the number of megacities is likely to rise to 104.
In megacities, daily problems for citizen intensify: noise level, pollution, traffic jam, missing parking spaces, limited green spaces, safety, problems in the water supply, energy and nutrition.

INSTITUT

The “Megacities Institute” aims to study the diverse solutions that were established through the megacities to better understand and investigate the increasing problems. Furthermore, the development of new solutions based on the current technical achievements is strongly supported by the Institute in order to give humans and all living creatures their habitat back. As a result, the Institute uses specific polls and diverse initiatives to determine the citizen’s expectations.

The Megacities Institute is a Non-governmental organization and based in Paris. The Megacities Institute consists in a research platform open to all contributors, whether companies, local authorities, or universities, in Europe and worldwide. It develops partnerships in order to improve urban life in all megacities »
Franck Cazenave, Megacities Institute President.

VISION

Déjà en 1970, pour le sociologue américain Alvin Toffler, dans « Le choc du futur » aux Editions Denoël, les habitants des mégapoles sont « créateurs d’un style, le plus souvent inconsciemment, ils mènent aujourd’hui la vie que des millions d’autres vivront demain. Et, tout en ne représentant qu’un maigre pourcentage de l’ensemble de la population d’aujourd’hui, ils forment déjà parmi nous une communauté internationale, celle des citoyens du futur. Ils sont les éclaireurs de l’humanité ».
Les villes et les métropoles représenteront 2% de la surface planétaire alors qu’elles accueilleront 70% d’une population mondiale de 9 milliards d’habitants, à l’horizon de 2050.
Déjà en 2015, 71 mégapoles de plus de 5 millions d’habitants existent dans le monde, selon l’Organisation des Nations Unies. Elles seront 104 dès 2030 ! Ces mégapoles exacerbent tous les problèmes des citadins : bruit, pollution, congestion automobile, manque de parking, espaces verts limités, sécurité, difficultés d’approvisionnements en eau, énergie et aliments.
Le « Megacities Institute » a l’ambition d’étudier la diversité des solutions mises en place par les mégapoles, dans le monde, pour résoudre ces problèmes, de les évaluer, et de les faire connaître. Aussi, l’Institut porte la volonté de promouvoir de nouvelles solutions, basées sur les technologies actuelles et à venir, pour rendre plus accueillantes ces villes aux humains et, plus généralement, à toutes les espèces vivantes. Enfin, l’Institut s’efforcera de connaître les attentes des populations en les interrogeant et en les faisant participer à différentes initiatives.

INSTITUT

Le « Megacities Institute » a l’ambition d’étudier la diversité des solutions mises en place par les mégapoles, dans le monde, pour résoudre ces problèmes, de les évaluer, et de les faire connaître. Aussi, l’Institut porte la volonté de promouvoir de nouvelles solutions, basées sur les technologies actuelles et à venir, pour rendre plus accueillantes ces villes aux humains et, plus généralement, à toutes les espèces vivantes. Enfin, l’Institut s’efforcera de connaître les attentes des populations en les interrogeant et en les faisant participer à différentes initiatives.

Megacities Institute se veut une plateforme de réflexion ouverte à tous, entreprises, collectivités territoriales et centres de recherches. C’est une startup collaborative à but non lucratif, partie d’une idée, elle multiplie les partenariats pour améliorer la vie de tous dans les grands centres urbains », Franck Cazenave, Président du Megacities Institute.